Top 10 books of the year

Didn’t do as much reading as I wanted to. But here’s my list:

1. Exit Ghost by Philip Roth (2007 was my year to read American literary greats and Roth won).
2. The Ugliness of the Indian Male and Other Propositions by Mukul Kesavan.
3. Imperial Life in the Emerald City by Rajiv Chandrasekaran.
4. Parachutist at Fine Leg: Unusual Occurrences from Wisden edited by Gideon Haigh (Up Pompey came very close as sports book of the year).
5. The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid.
6. The Triumph of the Political Class by Peter Oborne (see this link).
7. On Suicide Bombing by Talal Asad (I doubt many will get his argument, opting to express outrage at his conclusions).
8. The Yiddish Policeman’s Union by Michael Chabon.
9. The Utility of Force: The Art of War in the Modern World by Rupert Smith.
10. Young Stalin by Simon Sebag Montefiore (selected largely because it reminded me of my first ever real attempt to write ‘properly’: research, footnotes and everything. I chose to write a biography of Stalin at school for a history/humanities class).

2007 offerings by Douglas Copeland (JPod) and JG Ballard (Kingdom Come) were disappointing.

Books I wanted to read include The Nine: Inside the Secret World of the Supreme Court, Evil Paradises: Dreamworlds of Neoliberalism (I’ll get around to it one day, YB), How to Talk about Books You Haven’t Read, The Septembers of Shiraz, Byzantium: The Surprising Life of a Medieval Empire, The Road, The Mughal Emperors, The End of Tolerance and In the Country of Men. This list could actually go on.

4 Responses to “Top 10 books of the year”


  1. 1 Aasem Bakhshi December 31, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    Those were some really worth catching titles. Thanks.

    I am also looking forward to read Mughal Emperors and On Suicide Bombing. Moth Smoke – Hamid’s maiden attempt – was superior than Reluctant Fundamentalist from purely literary point of view.

    By the way, have you read The Last Mughal.

  2. 2 dawood January 2, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Interested on your take on the Asad one as it seems to be controversial in some ways (to most folks).

  3. 3 thabet January 2, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Aasem: No, it is another one to add to the list. In fact, it is on my desk and I will start it this weekend. I really recommend OSB.

    dawood: Here is an article by Asad at HuffPo you might like. I have a draft post of my thoughts on his book, and may post it later today.

  4. 4 Aasem Bakhshi January 4, 2008 at 7:01 am

    Thank you for this article, brother. I can relate to it at an extremely personal level. I look forward to read OSB as I deem it to be an insight into some of my personal dilemmas.


Leave a Reply

th.abe.t

RSS Talk Islam

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Brass Crescent

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

